:: itchefs-GVCI ::

Grana Padano

“Pasquale” Makishima triumphs at the International Championship of Pizzaiolo

The Japanese Akinari "Pasquale" Makishima was elected the miglior pizzaiolo (best pizza maker) of the 9th International Championship of Pizzaiuolo Naples-Caputo Trophy. Akinari, who has added ‘Pasquale’ to his name in honour of his maestro pizzaiolo, Pasquale Parziale of the Pizzeria Parziale on Corso Umberto, Naples, subjected himself to a competition lasting two days between 150 pizzaioli gathered together for the occasion of the ‘Vulcano Buono’ (‘Good Volcano’) of Nola near Naples. Second place went to the Neapolitan Vincenzo Caciali and third was won by Vincenzo Sandrico.

At the 8th International Championship, in 2009, Akinari already won third place and was nominated the Ambasciatore dei Pizzaioli Napoletani (Ambassador of Neapolitan Pizzaioli) to Japan. This year among those receiving the ‘title’ Ambasciatore della pizza napoletana nel mondo (Worldwide Ambassador of the Neapolitan Pizza) is Fabian Martin, an eccentric Spanish pizzaiolo from Livia, Gerona who, for the occasion of the Championship invented micro pizze-gelato, with mozzarella, parmigiano and gelato di pomodoro (yes, tomato ice-cream!).

For the organizers, presided by Sergio Miccù, who is responsible for the Associazione Pizzaioli Napoletani(Association of Neapolitan Pizzaioli), this Pizza Festival was “a true success in the number and quality of the participants.” From the Japanese delegation 20 pizzaioliarrived in Naples, along with seven French, five Spanish and ten American pizzaioli, among who was the many-time champion, Tony Gemignani.

“Ours is the only Italian championship that awards the pizzaiolo and not just the pizza – declared Carmine Caputo – because the difference is to be found in the skills of the person working beside the oven.” The webpage OAS_RICH('Middle'); Pizza Napoletana Stg is dedicated to and states all the positive traits and the stories that make this tradition, this craft, our pizzaioli’s hands that guarantee gastronomic excellence to the world.

S.T.G. (Traditional Specialty Guaranteed)

1st Akinari "Pasquale" Makishima (Japan)
2nd Cacialli Vincenzo
3rd Sandrico Vincenzo


1st Albachiara Attilio ex aequo Fabian Martin (Spain)
2nd Izzo Stefania
3rd D'Erasmo Marcello

Pizza for celiacs

1st Schettino Cecilia
2nd Montoli Egidio
3rd Schettino Annapia Cravero


1st Salvo Umberto

1st Acrobatic- free style singular Marisa Camonita (34 vaults)
1st Pizza speed Sergio Donaro (40.03 seconds)
1st Longest pizza Michele Maresca

Pizza by length

1st Giorgio Riggio
2nd Fiorello Angelo
3rd La Marca Alberto

Ambasciatori della Pizza Napoletana nel Mondo

Tony Gimignani (U.S.A.)
Fabian Martin (Spain)
Akinari "Pasquale" Makishima (Japan)

Senator of Pizza Napoletana

Pasquale Parziale

Prizes in memory of the maestri pizzaioli Ernesto Cacialli, Esterina Sorbillo, Ciccillo Raggio

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg
  • 6.jpg
  • 7.jpg
  • 8.jpg
  • 9.jpg
  • 10.jpg
  • 11.jpg
  • 12.jpg
  • 13.jpg
  • 14.jpg
  • 15.jpg
  • 16.jpg
  • 17.jpg
  • 18.jpg
  • 19.jpg
  • 20.jpg
  • 21.jpg
  • 22.jpg
  • 23.jpg
  • 24.jpg
  • 26.jpg
  • 27.jpg
  • 28.jpg
  • 29.jpg
  • 30.jpg
  • 31.jpg
  • 32.jpg
  • 33.jpg
  • 34.jpg
  • 35.jpg
  • 36.jpg
  • 37.jpg
  • 38.jpg
  • 39.jpg
  • 40.jpg
  • 42.jpg
  • 43.jpg
  • 44.jpg
  • 45.jpg
  • 46.jpg
  • 47.jpg
  • 48.jpg
  • 49.jpg
  • 50.jpg
  • 51.jpg
  • 52.jpg
  • 53.jpg
  • 54.jpg
  • 55.jpg
  • 56.jpg
  • 57.jpg
  • 58.jpg
  • 59.jpg
  • 60.jpg
  • 61.jpg
  • 62.jpg
  • 63.jpg
  • 64.jpg
  • 65.jpg
  • 66.jpg
  • 67.jpg
  • 68.jpg
  • 69.jpg
  • 70.jpg
  • 71.jpg
  • 72.jpg
  • 73.jpg
  • 74.jpg
  • 75.jpg
  • 76.jpg
  • 77.jpg
  • 78.jpg
  • 79.jpg
  • 80.jpg
  • 81.jpg
  • 82.jpg
  • 83.jpg
  • 84.jpg